Back up your phone
Backup by Google One allows you to automatically back up your phone. You can back up content, data, and settings from your phone to your Google Account. Backups are uploaded to Google servers and they're encrypted with your Google Account password.
You can automatically back up the following items to your Google account:
- Apps and app data
- Call history
- Contacts
- Phone settings (including Wi-Fi passwords and permissions)
- Photos and videos (synced to your Google Photos library, not to Google Drive)
- SMS text messages (if using Messages)
To set up your phone to automatically back up your files:
- Go to Settings > System
- Touch Backup
- Check that Backup by Google One is on

- If you have multiple Google accounts, touch Account to select an account.
- Follow the on-screen instructions
Tips
- Your Google One backup can take up to 24 hours.
- Check under Backup details, to review what data is backed up on your device
- Click here for more information from Google.
To back up other files that aren't automatically backed up, like attachments or downloads:
- Open the
Drive app.
- Touch

- Touch Upload, then choose the files or folder to upload.
Restore backed up data
When you add your Google account to a phone, photos, contacts, settings and app data that you previously backed up to that account are restored onto the phone.
Was this answer helpful?
Yes
No